7 thermal power plants commissioned, 6 under construction & 3 on the pipe line in Odisha- Minister

08 December,Bhubaneswar


As many as seven Thermal Power Plants have been commissioned, six are under construction and three more thermal power plants are on the pipe line in Odisha, state Energy Minister Prafulla Kumar Mallick told the state Assembly Friday.

Replying to a question of Dillip Ray (BJP), the minister said the seven thermal power plants (TPP) have the capacity to generate 8,880 MW of power out which the share of the state is 2,446 MW. Mallik said, while the two TPP of Odisha Power Generation Corporation (OPGC) at Brajarajnagar in Jhrsuguda district is generating 420 MW, Vedant has a 2,400 MW plant at Bhukamunda, Berath Energy has a 350 MW power plant at Sahajbahal.

The NTPC has a 460 MW TPP at Talcher, Jindal has a 1,200 MW at Derang, NTPC has a 3,000 MW plant at Kaniha and GMR has a 1,050 MW at Kamalanga in Dhenkanal district.

The minister said, two more units of OPGC at Brajaraj Nagar, a thermal power plant of NTPC at Barliparli in Sundergarh district, one unit of Barath energy at Sahajbahal, Ma Durga’s thermal power plant at Tangi in Cuttack Diistrict, Monnet power plant at Mali Brahamani in Anugul and Lakpbabandha’s plant at Khurunti in Dhenkanal district are under construction.

Mallick said the six thermal power plants have an aggregated capacity of 5,700 MW of power out of which 2,335 MW will be the share of Odisha.

In addition proposals are on to set up Odisha thermal power plant at Kamakhyanagar in Dhenkanal district, expand the capacity of TTPS in Angul and to set up another thermal power plant at Bedabahal in Sundergarh district. When completed these power plants would generate 7,720 MW out which Odisha’s share will be 4,360 MW, he said.BM

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *