BJD Leader Narendra Swain Files Nomination For RS By-Poll In Odisha , Set To Win

03 December, Bhubaneswar

Ruling BJD candidate and party’s general secretary Narendra Kumar Swain today filed his nomination papers for the December 14 by-election to the Rajya Sabha seat from Odisha.

Swains election to the Rajya Sabha is a foregone conclusion since the Opposition parties have decided not to field any candidate and the ruling BJD has a strength of 117 members in the 147-member house.

The scrutiny of the nomination papers would be held tomorrow and the withdrawal of papers would be allowed till December 7. Since there is no other candidate in the fray, the name of Swain is likely to be declared as uncontested.

Swain filed two sets of nomination papers in favour of his candidature. Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and nine others, including forest and environment minister Bikram Arukh, revenue and disaster management minister Bijayshree Routray, were the proposer in the first set and former Minister S N Patro and nine others signed in his favour as proposer in the second set.

The bypoll to the Rajya Sabha was necessitated following the death of BJD Rajya Sabha MP Kalpataru Das. The BJD now has six members in the Upper House.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *