BJP wins 5 of 10 Assembly seats in by-polls, Congress wins 3

13 April, New Delhi

In the Assembly by-poll results, BJP has won 5 seats out of 10 while Congress got 3 seats, one seat each went to Jharkhand Mukti Morcha and Trinamool Congress. The bypoll Elections were held on Sunday.

Bharatiya Janata Party and Shiromani Akali Dal alliance has won the Rajouri Garden constituency in Delhi. The alliance candidate Manjinder Singh Sirsa defeated Meenakshi Chandela of Congress by over 14 thousand votes. Aam Aadmi Party candidate Harjeet Singh got third position and lost his deposit.

With the victory, the BJP’s tally in the 70-member Delhi Assembly will now become four. The Congress does not have any presence in the House.

In Himachal Pradesh, the BJP has won the Bhoranj assembly constituency in Hamirpur district. BJP candidate Anil Dhiman defeated congress candidate Parmila Devi.

In the Dhemaji assembly constituency of Assam, BJP candidate Ranoj Pegu defeated his nearest rival Babul Sonowal of Congress.

In Madhya Pradesh, Hemant Katare of Congress won the Ater legislative assembly segment. He defeated BJP’s Arvind Singh Bhadoria. While Bandhavgarh assembly segment has been won by BJP candidate Shivnarayan Singh defeating Savitri Singh of Congress.

In Karnataka, Congress has retained both the Gundlupet as well as Nanjangud assembly seats. In Gundlupet, Congress’ candidate Geetha Mahadev Prasad defeated BJP’s C S Niranjanakumar while in Nanjangud, Kalale N Keshavamurthy of Congress defeated BJP’s candidate, Srinivas Prasad.

In west Bengal, Trinamool Congress has won the Kanthi Dakshin Assembly seat. Its candidate Chandrima Bhattacharya defeated her nearest BJP rival Sourindra Mohan Jana by over 44 thousand votes. This is for the first time that the bjp has emerged as the second most popular party pushing the left candidate at the third position and the congress at the fourth position in the state.

In Jharkhand, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha has won Littipara Assembly seat. JMM’s Simon Marandi defeated Hemlal Murmu of the BJP.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *