BJP wins in Tripura; Hung assemblies in Nagaland, Meghalaya

03 March,New Delhi


The BJP and its ally IPFT have ended the 25-year rule of Left Front in Tripura with a strong showing in the Assembly polls. BJP has got an absolute majority on its own getting 34 seats and leading in 2. Meghalaya threw up a hung assembly with Congress emerging as the single largest party winning 21 seats. According to available trends, a close finish is on the cards in Nagaland.

In Tripura, 55 results have come in so far. BJP-alliance has bagged 41 seats followed by CPIM 13. BJP alliance partner IPFT got 8. CPIM is leading in 2. Congress has failed to open its account. BJP state President Biplab Kumar Deb has won Banamalipur seat defeating his nearest rival Amal Chakraborty by over 9,500 votes. Tripura Chief Minister Manik Sarkar is leading from Dhanpur. State PWD Minister and CPIM candidate Badal Choudhury is also leading from Hrishyamukh seat. CPIM candidate and Agriculture Minister Aghore Deb Barma has lost in Asharambari constituency. He has been defeated by his nearest rival of IPFT candidate Mevar Kr Jamatia by over nearly 7,000 votes.

In Meghalaya, results of all the 59 assembly seats have been declared. Ruling Congress has become the single largest party by winning 21 seats. The National People’s Party has managed to win 19 seats. United Democratic Party has won 6 seats while BJP got 2. Hill State People’s Democratic Party has won two seats while PDF got 4 seats. NCP and Khun Hynniewtrep National Awakening Movement have won one seat each. Independent candidates won 3 seats. Chief Minister Mukul Sangma has retained the Ampati seat and won the Songsak seat also. Another senior Congress leader Ampareen Lyngdoh has won the East Shillong seat. On the other hand, National Peoples Party, NPP candidates Agatha K Sangma, Jim M Sangma, Macmillan Byrsat and Gigur Myrthong have managed to win. UDP candidate Metbah Lyngdoh wins Mairang seat. BJP candidate Sanbor Shullai bags South Shillong seat by defeating his nearest Congress heavyweight rival Manas Choudhuri. Another senior BJP leader A L Hek has been elected from Pynthorumkhrah constituency. State Home Minister H.D.R.Lyngdoh lost to HSPDP candidate Samlin Malngiang by 622 votes in Sohiong constituency.

Meanwhile, political activities have been geared up in the state. The newly elected legislators of the National People’s Party, NPP, are likely to meet tonight in Shillong. NPP sources said, the party is ready to talk to the likeminded party to form a government. On the other hand, senior Congress leaders are also in huddle to decide future course of action.

In Nagaland, 56 results have come in so far. BJP has won 10 seats and leading in one while its alliance partner-NDPP got 16 and leading in 2. NPF bagged 26 seats and leading in 1. NPP got 2 and Independent one. JDU won one seat. State Chief Minister and NPF candidate T R Zeliang wins from Peren seat against NDPP’s Iherie Ndang. NDPP Chief Neiphiu Rio was declared elected unopposed from the Northern Angami-II constituency.

All the three Northeastern states have a 60-member Assembly, but polling was held for 59 seats each. Polling to Charilam (st) seat in Tripura was postponed till the 12th of this month due to the death of CPIM candidate Ramendra Narayan Debbarma. In Meghalaya, the election was countermanded in Williamnagar in the wake of the killing of NCP candidate Jonathone N Sangma in an IED blast.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *