CM Yogi Adityanath declared elected unopposed for UP State Legislative Council

08 September, Lucknow


In Uttar Pradesh Bharatiya Janata Party candidate and Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath has been declared elected unopposed for State Legislative Council.

Dy CMs Keshaw Prasad Maurya and Dr Dinesh Sharma and Minister of State of Transport independent Charge Swatantra Dev Singh have also been declared elected for the upper house of the legislature.

They have been given the certificates for their elections by the returning officer today after passing of last date of withdrawal. Dy CM Maurya received his certificates personally.

Our Lucknow correspondent reports that initially bye elections for the four seats were announced by the Election Commission. The seats were vacated by Samajwadi Party MLCs Bukkal Nawab, Yashwant, Dr Sarojini Agarwal and Ashok Bajpai. They all have joined the ruling BJP.

Last date for withdrawal for bye poll for one another seat vacated by the BSP leader Thakur Jaiveer Singh is 11th September. Minister of State Minority Affaires Mohisin Raza is alone in contest for the bye poll.

The by polls have enabled the BJP leaders including Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and his cabinet colleagues to become members of the State Legislature who were not member of either of the two Houses. They had to become a legislator within six months of assuming office and the deadline expires on 19th September.

Yogi Adityanath has become the third successive chief minister, after Akhilesh Yadav and Mayawati, to become member of the upper house.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *