EC announces schedule for assembly elections in Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland

18 January,New Delhi


The Election Commission (EC) today announced the schedule for the Assembly elections in Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland.

Addressing a press conference in New Delhi, Chief Election Commissioner AK Joti said, in Tripura, the polling will take place on the 18th of next month, while Meghalaya and Nagaland will go to polls on 27th February.The counting of votes for all the three states will be held on 3rd March.

Gazette notification for the poll in Tripura will be issued on the 24th of this month. For polls in Meghalaya and Nagaland, the notification will be issued on 31st January.

Mr Joti said, VVPATs will be used with EVMs during the polling in the three states. He said, the expenditure ceiling for candidates in the polls will be 20 lakh rupees.

Replying to media query on electoral bonds, Mr Joti said, it is a step in right direction as there will be a digital trail of donations made.

With the announcement of the schedule, the model code of conduct has come into force. Meghalaya, Nagaland and Tripura have 60 Assembly seats each.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *