JNUSU Poll Results: AISF Wins Presidential Post, ABVP Gets Jt.Secretary Post

13 September, New Delhi

CPIs student wing All India Students Federation (AISF) won the presidential post in the student election of Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU), the results of which was announced today while Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad(ABVP) made a strong comeback after a gap of 14 years by winning the Joint Secretary’s post.

AISFs candidate Kanhaiya Kumar, who won the presidential post, defeated All India Students Association (AISA) Candidate Vijay Kumar by a margin of 67 votes. Kanhaiya Kumar polled 1029 votes while Vijay Kumar secured 962 votes, CEC for JNUSU poll Praveen Thallapelli said.

Left-backed AISA won only two seats– Vice President and General Secretary this year.

Shehla Rashid Shora and Rama Naga who were AISA’s candidates for the post of Vice President and General Secretary got 1387 and 1159 votes respectively.

Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad(ABVP)’s Saurabh Sharma who won the post of the joint secretary, defeated AISA’s candidate Hamid Raza by margin of 27 votes.

Thirty-one councillors belonging to different schools in JNU were also elected.

The students union election at JNU, which was held on September 11 had registered a voter turnout of 53.3 per cent while in last year, it was about 54.58 per cent.

The JNUSU poll were concluded peacefully.

A total of 8437 students were registered as voters and 22 candidates were in the fray for the Central panel, which included the posts of President, Vice-President, General Secretary and Joint Secretary. Besides, 83 candidates also contested for the posts of councillors at all centres of the varsity.

The polling began on September 11 at 1000 hrs after a delay of half an hour and ended at 1730 hrs.

NSUI, SFI, Democratic Student’s Federation (DSF) and Birsa Ambedkar Phule Students’ Association (BAPSA) also contested the polls.

JNU still practice ballot paper voting and also offers the None of the Above (NOTA) option to its electorate.

For the past two years, AISA had been victorious in the polls by winning all the four seats

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *