Justice Thakur Sworn-In As 43rd Chief Justice Of India

03 December, New Delhi

Justice Tirath Singh Thakur was on Thursday sworn in as the 43rd Chief Justice of India. President Pranab Mukherjee administered him the oath of the office.

Thakur, who has a tenure of 13 months, succeeds Chief Justice H.L. Dattu, who demitted office on December 2. Chief Justice Thakur is slated to retire on January 3, 2017.

The swearing-in ceremony was attended by Vice-president Hamid Ansari, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, leader of main opposition party Congress in the Lok Sabha Mallikarjun Kharge, Leader of Opposition in the Rajya Sabha Ghulam Nabi Azad among others.

The swearing-in ceremony was also attended by former Supreme Court chief justices Justice A.M. Ahmadi, Justice A.S. Anand, Justice K.G. Balakrishnan, Justice S.H. Kapadia, and Justice R.M. Lodha.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *