Kiwis level series after nail biting finish at Frozshah Kotla

20 October, New Delhi

India lost to New Zealand by six runs in a nail biting finish in Delhi’s Frozshah Kotla.

Last minute resistance from Indian all rounder Hardik Pandya and fast bowler Umesh Yadav,, who stitched together a 49 runs partnership kept the Kiwis celebration at bay for few minutes.

However, Captain Kain Williamson’s 118 runs and Tims Southe’s feiry spell of 3-52 made sure that India never reaches the target.

Earlier, India won the toss and asked the visitors to bat first.

M.J. Guptill who was out to open the innings was clean bowled by Yadav for a duck.

T.M Lathon’s century stand with Williamson helped the black caps post a reasonable total of 242/9.

The target which seemed to be reachable at first, was made it tougher by New Zealand bowlers and kept Indian batsmen gasping for runs.

Indian right hand batsmen Kedar Jadhav remained the top scorer for India who scored 41 out of 39 balls.

Kiwis’s captain Kanew Williamson was declared Man of the Mach.

Following is the scoreboard of the second One-Day International (ODI) between India and New Zealand at the Ferozeshah Kotla here on Thursday:

India won the toss and chose to field.

New Zealand 242/9 Martin Guptill b Umesh 0 Tom Latham lbw b K Jadhav 46 Kane Williamson c Rahane b Mishra 118 Ross Taylor c Rohit b Mishra 21 Corey Anderson lbw b A Mishra 21 Luke Ronchi c Dhoni b Axar 6 Mitchell Santner not out 9 Anton Devcich c Axar b Bumrah 7 Tim Southee b Bumrah 0 Matt Henry b Bumrah 6 Trent Boult not out 5

Extras 3 (b 0, lb 0, w 3, nb 0, p 0) Total 242 (9 wickets, 50 overs)

Fall of Wickets: 0-1 (Martin Guptill, 0.2 overs), 120-2 (Tom Latham, 20.3), 158-3 (Ross Taylor, 30.6), 204-4 (Corey Anderson, 40.5), 213-5 (Kane Williamson, 42.4), 216-6 (Luke Ronchi, 43.3), 224-7 (Anton Devcich, 45.1), 225-8 (Tim Southee, 45.5), 237-9 (Matt Henry, 49.2)

Bowlers Umesh Yadav 9-0-42-1, Hardik Pandya 9-0-45-0, Jasprit Bumrah 10-0-35-3, Axar Patel 10-0-49-1, Amit Mishra 10-0-60-3, Kedar Jadhav 2-0-11-1

Rohit Sharma c Ronchi b Boult 15 Ajinkya Rahane c Anderson b Southee 28 Virat Kohli c Ronchi b Santner 9 Manish Pandey run out 19 MS Dhoni c and b Southee 39 Kedar Jadhav c Ronchi b Henry 41 Axar Patel c Santner b Guptill 17 Hardik Pandya c Santner b Boult 36 Amit Mishra c sub (Doug Bracewell) b Guptill 1 Umesh Yadav not out 18 Jasprt Bumrah b Southee 0

Extras (lb 5, w 8) 13 Total (all out; 49.3 overs) 236
Fall of wickets: 1-21 (Sharma, 7.1 overs), 2-40 (Kohli, 11.4), 3-72 (Rahane, 18.4), 4-73 (Pandey, 19.2), 5-139 (Jadhav, 31.1), 6-172 (Dhoni, 39.3), 7-180 (Patel, 40.1), 8-183 (Mishra, 40.5), 9-232 (Pandya, 48.5), 10-236 (49.3)


Matt Henry 10-0-51-1, Trent Boult 10-2-25-2, Tim Southee 9-0-49-2, A.P. Devcich 9-0-48-0, Mitchell Santner 10-0-49-1, Martin Guptill 1-0-6-2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *