Nagaland: CM T.R. Zeliang stakes claims to form govt; 4 Ministers removed

09 July,Kohima

Nagaland appears to be heading for a political crisis, with the former Chief Minister T R Zeliang staking his claim to form the government.
In a letter to Governor P.B. Acharya, he claimed the support of 41 of the 59 MLAs, after a majority of ruling NPF legislators rebelled against incumbent Shurhozelie Liezietsu.

Zeliang claimed, 34 rebel MLAs of the Naga People’s Front and seven independents are rallying behind him. Nagaland assembly has a strength of 60 members. Meanwhile, Chief Minister Dr. Liezietsu said, the current issue is an internal matter and will be resolved at the earliest.

Governor Acharya has dropped four ministers on the recommendation of Chief Minister Liezietsu. They are State Home Minister Y.Patton, National Highway and Political Affairs Minister G Kaito Aye, Environment, Forest and Climate Change Minister Imkong L Imchen and Power Minister C. Kipili.
All the four have rebelled against Liezietsu and joined the camp of Zeliang. Zeliang, who was Advisor-Finance, has also quit his post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *