Odisha CM reshuffles his cabinet, additional charges allocated to five ministers

0 3 March,Bhubaneswar


Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Saturday reshuffled the portfolios of five of his cabinet colleagues by allocating additional responsibilities of some key departments to them.

The chief minister who had held the charge of Water Resources and Works department for a long time allocated these department to  Niranjan Pujari and  Prafulla Mallick respectively.

Pujari who was holding the portfolio of Housing Urban Development and Industries was given the additional charge of Water Resources and the Industries department was taken out of him and allocated to Minister of State for Higher Education Ananta Das.

Prafulla Mallick who was in charge of Steel, Mines and Energy department was rewarded with the key water Resources department held by the chief minister.

Mallick will hold the departments of Works Department in addition to Steel and Mines. Department Minister of state for Labour and Employees state Insurance was given the additional charge of Energy department which was earlier held by Mallick.

Health and and Family Welfare Minister Pratap Jena was given the additional charge of Information and Public Relations department .

The minor reshuffle of the portfolios of the ministers was made after the victory of by election to Bijepur Assembly seat. BJD candidate Rita Sahu defeated her nearest rival BJP candidate Ashok Panigrahi by a margin of 41,933 votes.The ruling party captured the Bijepur Assembly seat which was held by the Congress for the last three General Elections.

Pujari and Mallick were actively campaigned for the victory of party candidate in the by election to Bijepur .BM

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *