PM to induct 9 New faces including Hardeep Puri, Alphons in ministry tomorrow

02 September, New Delhi


Prime Minister Narendra Modi is likely to induct nine new faces in his Council of ministers while re-allocating portfolios to the existing ministers in tomorrow’s reshuffle in his Cabinet, sources said.

The swearing-in ceremony of new ministers will take place at Rashtrapati Bhawan at 10:30 in the morning. The new ministers will be sworn in by President Ram Nath Kovind .

Among the new faces that are likely to take oath tomorrow – are Shiv Pratap Shukla, Rajya Sabha MP from Uttar Pradesh; Ashwini Choubey, Lok Sabha MP from Bihar’s Buxar; Virendra Kumar, Lok Sabha MP from Madhya Pradesh’s Tikamgah; Raj Kumar Singh, Lok Sabha MP from Bihar’s Arrah; Anantkumar Hegde, Lok Sabha MP from Karnataka; Hardeep Singh Puri, a decorated former IFS officer; Gajendra Singh Shekhawat, Lok Sabha MP from Rajasthan’s Jodhpur; Satya Pal Singh, Lok Sabha MP from Uttar Pradesh’s Baghpat and Alphons Kannanthanam, a distinguished former IAS officer of the 1979 batch, Kerala cadre.

At the same time, the portfolios of the Ministers are likely to be reallocated. The Prime Minister will leave for China to attend the BRICS summit tomorrow afternoon.

Ahead of Cabinet reshuffle, several ministers have resigned to facilitate the reshuffle.

Latest among them to put in his papers is Minister for Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises Kalraj Mishra. Earlier, Rajiv Pratap Rudy, Bandaru Dattatreya, Sanjeev Balyan, Mahendra Nath Pandey and Faggan Singh Kulaste had resigned from their posts.

Though a cloud of uncertainty hangs over the participation of AIADMK and JD(U) in the union cabinet, there are reports that some more ministers are likely to resign ahead of tomorrow’s reshuffle.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *