Speaker suspends 6 Cong MPs for disrupting LS during lynching debate

24 July, New Delhi

Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan has suspended six Congress MPs for five sittings for causing grave disorder by storming the well, tearing papers and throwing them towards the Chair during their protests over the lynching issue.

Party MPs are Gaurav Gogoi, K. Suresh, Adhir Ranjan Chowdhary, Ranjeet Ranjan, Sushmita Dev and M K Raghavan.

Ordering their suspension amid noisy scene, the Speaker termed the conduct of the members as highly unbecoming and undermining the Chair’s dignity.

She said all this had happened despite her agreeing to a discussion on the issue of atrocities against Dalits and Muslims which was raised by Leader of the Congress in Lok Sabha Mallikarjun Kharge and others.

She said, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Ananth Kumar had also agreed to a discussion on the issue and despite this, the members stormed the well and did not stop despite her repeated requests.

Members of the Congress and some other opposition parties were in the Well raising slogans against the government and protesting lynching incidents in the name of cow protection almost since the House assembled in the morning and took up the Question Hour.

They were also warned during Question Hour by the Speaker. But, the ruckus continued during the Zero
Hour in the afternoon, forcing an adjournment till 2.00 PM.

When the House met after post-lunch, the Speaker read out the name of these MPs announcing their suspension and adjourned the House till 2.30 PM.

When the House again met, Deputy Speaker M Thambidurai asked the suspended members to leave the House but opposition MPs trooped into well raising slogans forcing him to adjourn the House for the day.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *