Sports minister Goel presents cash awards to medal winners at Rio Games

24 October, New Delhi

The Sports Ministry on Monday gave away cash awards to the medal winners of Rio Olympics and Paralympics.

The funds were distributed under the central government scheme of special awards to medal winners in international sports events.

High Jumper Mariyappan Thangavelu and Javelin thrower Devendra Jhajharia, who clinched golds at the Paralympics received Rs. 75 lakh each, according to a release.

Silver medal-winning para athlete Shot Putter Deepa Malik received Rs.50 lakh as did second placed shuttler at the Olympics P.V. Sindhu.

Disabled athlete High Jumper Varun Singh Bhati, who won bronze, received Rs.30 lakh along with third-placed women’s wrestler at the Olympics Sakshi Malik.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *