Swamy, Sidhu, Swapan Dasgupta nominated to Rajya Sabha

22 April, New Delhi

BJP leaders Subramanian Swamy and Navjot Singh Sidhu and journalist Swapan Dasgupta have been nominated to Rajya Sabha.

Official sources said, economist Narendra Jadhav, Malayalam actor Suresh Gopi and Boxer Mary Kom have also been nominated to the Upper House.

There are 12 nominated members in Rajya Sabha and at present seven seats are vacant. Persons having special knowledge in literature, science, art and social service and sports are nominated in this category.

Although independent, the nominated members always vote along with the government and the filling of vacancies will bolster the NDA’s numbers in the Upper House where it lacks majority.

Lyricist Javed Akhtar, Therater artist B Jayashree, Journalist H K Dua, Congress leader Mani Shankar Aiyar, Economist Bhalchandra Mungekar, Proffesor Mrinal Miri, Dr Ashok Ganguly had completed their terms as nominated members.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *