Ten tourism sites to be developed as iconic destinations

12 March,New Delhi


Ten prominent tourism sites, including Taj Mahal, Qutub Minar and Red Fort, Ajanta and Ellora, will be developed into iconic tourism destinations,the Lok Sabha was informed on Monday.

In a written reply, Culture Minister K J Alphons said the development of 10 prominent tourist sites into iconic tourist destinations in the country is part of the Budget Announcements of 2018-19.

The Ministry of Tourism has identified prominent tourist sites for development based on the criteria of footfall, regional distribution, potential for development and ease of implementation, he said.

The sites include Taj Mahal & Fatehpur Sikri (Uttar Pradesh), Ajanta and Ellora (Maharashtra), Humayun Tomb, Qutub Minar and Red Fort (Delhi), Colva Beach (Goa) and Amer Fort (Rajasthan).

The list also includes Somnath and Dholavira (Gujarat), Khajuraho (Madhya Pradesh),Hampi (Karnataka), Mahablipuram (Tamil Nadu), Kaziranga (Assam), Kumarakom (Kerala)and Mahabodhi Temple (Bihar) The development of iconic tourist destinations will be implemented under the ongoing Swadesh Darshan Scheme of Ministry of Tourism. There is no separate allocation of funds for this project.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *