TM Krishna, Bezwada Wilson win Ramon Magsaysay Award

27 July, New Delhi

Two Indians, Carnatic musician TM Krishna and human rights activist Bezwada Wilson have been conferred the Ramon Magsaysay Award for 2016.

While the Chennai-born Carnatic vocalist Krishna has been awarded for ensuring social inclusiveness in culture, Karnataka born Wilson has been lauded for his efforts towards asserting the inalienable right to a life of human dignity.

The Magsaysay Award is an annual award, named after former Philippine President Ramon Magsaysay, to honour greatness of spirit in selfless service to the peoples of Asia.

Other winners are Conchita Carpio-Morales from Philippines, Dompet Dhuafa from Indonesia, Japan Overseas Cooperation Volunteers and Vientiane Rescue from Laos.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *