Trinamool Congress Sweeps Urban Local Body Elections In West Bengal

28 April, Kolkata

Ruling Trinamool Congress has won in 55 Municipalities and leading ahead in 25 civic bodies including the Kolkata Municipal Corporation in West Bengal .

Opposition Left Front and Congress have won in 5 each Municipalities. None has got absolute majority in 6 Municipalities. In Siliguri Municipal Corporation Opposition Left Front is going ahead.

As per latest trends available in Kolkata Municipal Corporation ruling Trinamool Congress has won in 115 seats out of 144 member civic body.

The city Mayor and Trinamool Congress candidate, Mr. Shovan Chatterjee has won defeating his nearest CPIM rival. The former State Municipal Minister and CPIM candidate, Mr. Ashok Bhattacharya has won from Siliguri. The elections in 92 Municipalities in the state were held on 18th and 25th of this month.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *