Virak Kohli to lead in all three formats; Yuvraj makes a comeback

06 January,Mumbai

Indian cricket entered a new era Friday as Virat Kohli was officially appointed captain for all three formats of the game.

He took over leadership for the upcoming limited-overs series against England. Mahendra Singh Dhoni, after more than nine years at the helm, will play only as keeper-batsman. Virat Kohli will lead a 15-member squad in both ODIs and Twenty20s against England.

All-rounder Yuvraj Singh makes a return to ODI and T20 team after nine months. Batsmen Shikhar Dhawan and Ajinkya Rahane have been picked only for the ODIs. While veteran Ashish Nehra makes a comeback in the T20 squad, rookie wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant is the only new face in the T20 team.

The national selection committee under MSK Prasad’s chairmanship met in Mumbai today. But it was delayed by three hours on technical grounds before a go ahead from the Lodha panel set the proceedings rolling. Today’s meeting was convened by BCCI CEO Rahul Johri after joint Secretary Amitabh Chaudhary stood disqualified owing to the Supreme Court verdict, which sacked the entire BCCI top brass last week.

The series against England will start with the first ODI in Pune followed by games in Cuttack, on Jan 19 and in Kolkata on Jan 22. The T20s are scheduled from January 26 to February 1 in Kanpur, Nagpur and Bangalore.

Team for 3 ODIs: Virat Kohli (Captain), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Yuvraj Singh, Ajinkya Rahane, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar, Umesh Yadav.

Team for 3 T20Is: Virat Kohli (Captain), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk), Mandeep Singh, KL Rahul, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Manish Pandey, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar, Ashish Nehra.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *